Tag Archives: concert

“…fused into music…”

Peabody Computer Music Consort presents: “…fused into music…”

See Peabody’s Leith Symington Griswold Hall transformed like never before, with performances of electro-acoustic works featuring Peabody faculty artists, alumni, and special guests from the Conservatory and beyond.

Spectacles include Virtual Reality, Oculus Rift and Leap Motion Controller and other new custom instruments, improvisation, 8.1 surround sound, video, ecological acoustics, and much more.

Bloom (2009) – Alexandra Gardner
Peter Kibbe, violoncello

Aldebaran (1972) – Jean Eichelberger Ivey (1923-2010)
Maria Lambros, viola and electronics

Midway Inlet (2006) – McGregor Boyle
Gary Louie, saxophone and interactive electronics

Submersive(s) – Michael Formanek/Edwin Huet
Michael Formanek, double bass
Edwin Kenzo Huet, live electronics, 8.1 channel surround 

Carillon (2015) – Rob Hamilton/Chris Platz
Rob Hamilton, Oculus Rift, Leap Motion Controller.

Philomel (1964) – Milton Babbitt (1916-2011)
Text by John Hollander
Ah Young Hong, soprano

frostbYte: Chalk Outline – Daniel Blinkhorn (ecological sonics and video)
Chryssie Nanou, piano
This event is free, tickets required. Please contact the Peabody Box Office for tickets.


SONiC Fest: Machine Music: Acoustic & Robotic Instruments


12068945_1082932115053426_2302020644782007111_oPart of SONiC: Sounds of a New Century Festival, Oct. 15-23,



MOLLY HERRON and Andy Cavatorta (instrument maker): Stellar Atmospheres – vocal quartet, viol consort and “The Dervishes” (World Premiere)

FJÓLA EVANS and Merche Blasco (instrument maker): Whirlpool – three singers and four theremins

RUBY FULTON: Cycle Loops – piano, electronics, bike
with Julia Sheriff (piano) and Robby Neubauer (electronics)

ALBERT BEHAR (composer & instrument maker): Sound Orb – tactile speaker system (World Premiere)

LEVY LORENZO (composer & instrument maker): Inside Voice – iLophone and four singers


2011 SEAMUS Conference

12/12/2010- Graduate students Yi Wang, Evan Combs, and Patrick McMinn will each have a composition performed at the SEAMUS 2011 conference in Miami, Florida this January. Wang’s piece is entitled Talking Ocean, Combs’ piece is entitled A Short Stop for vibraphone and electronics, and McMinn’s piece entitled The Middle Place for trumpet, disklavier, and interactive electronics. Patrick McMinn’s piece was a finalist in the ASCAP/SEAMUS Student Competition.